We Were Promised Jetpacks

We Were Promised Jetpacks live at The Bodega Nottingham

  • Tuesday 6th December 2011
  • Supported by: Let's Buy Happiness + Alex Hel
  • Doors open: at 7:00pm

We Were Promised Jet Packs

We Were Promised Jetpacks is an indie rock band from Edinburgh, Scotland, comprising Adam Thompson (vocals, guitar), Michael Palmer (guitar), Sean Smith (bass) and Darren Lackie (drums). The band's debut album, These Four Walls, was released on 15 June 2009 on Fat Cat Records. The band cites label mates Frightened Rabbit and The Twilight Sad as influences, alongside Biffy Clyro's early material.
In September 2008, the band supported Frightened Rabbit during their tour for The Midnight Organ Fight. The band signed to Fat Cat Records after the label listened to some MySpace friends of Frightened Rabbit. On 15 June 2009 the band released their debut album, These Four Walls, and performed the album in full at King Tut's Wah Wah Hut. The album reached #27 on the U.S. Billboard Heatseekers chart.
In July 2011, the band announced their second full-length album, In the Pit of the Stomach and released the track "Act on Impulse". The album was released on October 4, 2011. It was met with general approval from music critics, and achieved an overall rating of 7.3/10 at AnyDecentMusic? based on 23 reviews.